Remains of a castle established in the earlier twelfth century within the site of an Iron Age promontory fort
Visitor Notice: Danger — Falling masonry from the top of the East Bastion.
Please keep away from this area.
Llansteffan Castle stands on a headland overlooking the sand-flats of the mouth of the river Tywi.
The natural strength and strategic importance of this stunning location was recognised by the Norman invaders of Wales who established an earth-and-timber enclosure, or 'ringwork', within the ancient defences of an Iron Age fort.
The castle controlled an important river crossing and it changed hands several times during fierce fighting between the Normans and the Welsh. The transformation of the early earth-and-timber stronghold into the powerful masonry castle visible today was the work of the Camville family who held the castle from the late twelfth to the early fourteenth century.
The castle was held briefly by Owain Glyndŵr’s supporters in 1405-06. At the close of the fifteenth century, King Henry VII granted it to his uncle, Jasper Tudor, who was probably responsible for blocking the great gatehouse passage to create additional accommodation.
1 April 2017 - 31 March 2018
Daily 10.00am - 4.00pm
Last admission 30 minutes before closing
Closed 24, 25, 26 December and 1 January
For yearly opening times please click 'View all visitor information'
Adult - Am ddim/Free
Family - Am ddim/Free
Senior citizens, students and children under 16 - Am ddim/Free
Disabled and companion - Am ddim/Free
Facilities and information
View all visitor information
- Under 16s must be accompanied by an adult
- Dogs on leads welcome
- No smoking
- Cadw do not allow drone flying from or over its guardianship sites, except by contractors commissioned for a specific purpose, who satisfy stringent CAA criteria, have the correct insurances and are operating under controlled conditions.
Road Llansteffan, on B4312, 8m (12.9km) SW of Carmarthen.
Rail Carmarthen 9m (14.5km).