Due to concerns over the spread of Coronavirus and the well-being of our visitors, Llanthony Priory will be closed to the public until further notice. Please check the Cadw website for further updates.
A timeless treasure
If there’s a better religious site ‘truly suited to the monastic life… in a wilderness far removed from the bustle of mankind’ we’d like to know. Those were the words of Giraldus Cambrensis, Gerald of Wales, the 12th-century traveller and chronicler. Remote Llanthony, locked away in a dramatic location in the Vale of Ewyas beneath the brooding borderland Black Mountains that rise abruptly from this evocative ruin, still radiates that spirit of isolation and contemplation. Norman knight William de Lacy founded a hermitage here when he – untypical of the times – abandoned war and embraced religion. By 1118 Llanthony had become a monastery of Augustinian canons, which continued until it was suppressed in 1539.
Although now a 900-year-old ruin, it’s easy to see from these extensive remains that Llanthony was one of Wales’s great medieval buildings. In particular, its former magnificence lives on in the surviving richly decorated red stonework and superb row of pointed archways, which frame a scene that has changed little since de Lacy’s times.
Bike storage area available in car park or close to site.
Access is a short distance from car park (approx. 100 metres). Limited wheelchair access.
Parking for approx.30 cars, no dedicated disabled spaces.
Cadw do not allow drone flying from or over its guardianship sites, except by contractors commissioned for a specific purpose, who satisfy stringent CAA criteria, have the correct insurances and are operating under controlled conditions.
Smoking is not permitted.
Toilet facilities in car park.