Skip to main content

A new exhibition entitled, Cymru a’r Môr /Wales and the Sea, and inspired by the stories and images from the archive collections of the Royal Commission on the Ancient and Historical Monuments of Wales, the National Library of Wales and Amgueddfa Cymru – National Museum Wales, and Cadw is now on display at Oxwich Castle.  Themes of the exhibition include Tales from the Deep, Inspiration from the Sea, Castles and Cloaks, Peril between the Waves as well as the more light-hearted Beside the Seaside.  This exhibition was created to celebrate the magnificent coast, dramatic seascapes, and active inland waterways of Wales, all of which, teem with life, adventure and legend. These waters have shaped not only the coastline of Wales, but also the history and imagination of the Welsh people. Notable images in the exhibition include the painting of Forest Cove, Cardigan Bay (1883) by the Pre-Raphaelite artist John Brett (1831–1902), a sea chart of Aberystwyth Bay by Lewis Morris, the self-taught hydrographer from Anglesey (1701–65), and an early depiction of coracle men by Julius Caesar Ibbetson on the banks of the River Teifi.

 

The exhibition will be on display at Oxwich Castle, from 10 October to 3 November 2019.


Prices

Category
Category Price
Member - Join now
Free
Adult
£4.20
Family*
£12.20
Disabled and companion
Free
Juniors (Aged 5-17) / NUS / Armed Forces and Veterans
£2.50
Seniors (Aged 65+)
£3.40

*Admits 2 adults and up to 3 children under 18


Times

Day Times
Thu 10 Oct 2019
10:00 - 17:00
Fri 11 Oct 2019
10:00 - 17:00
Sat 12 Oct 2019
10:00 - 17:00
Sun 13 Oct 2019
10:00 - 17:00
Wed 16 Oct 2019
10:00 - 17:00
Thu 17 Oct 2019
10:00 - 17:00
Fri 18 Oct 2019
10:00 - 17:00
Sat 19 Oct 2019
10:00 - 17:00
Sun 20 Oct 2019
10:00 - 17:00
Wed 23 Oct 2019
10:00 - 17:00
Thu 24 Oct 2019
10:00 - 17:00
Fri 25 Oct 2019
10:00 - 17:00
Sat 26 Oct 2019
10:00 - 17:00
Sun 27 Oct 2019
10:00 - 17:00
Wed 30 Oct 2019
10:00 - 17:00
Thu 31 Oct 2019
10:00 - 17:00
Fri 01 Nov 2019
10:00 - 17:00
Sat 02 Nov 2019
10:00 - 17:00
Sun 03 Nov 2019
10:00 - 17:00