Evidence suggests that the church is of celtic origin, built on the site of a ‘Llan’ and may have been a monastery, ministry or hermitage originally. It is the second smallest church in the diocese, first recorded in 1253. Interesting features include the ancient entrance door complete with original latch, hinges and door knocker. Inside are interesting memorials and English Gothic east window (1290-1350). 16th century roof timbers and the remains of early wall paintings, very precious, and the unique wooden font. Over time there have been alterations and restoration, the east window was re-glazed in 1984, made in the Ruthin Craft Centre. Copies of the Parish Records from the past three centuries will be on display and at 2.30pm each day there will be a talk about some of the past inhabitants who worshipped at the Church Refreshments will be available.
Efenechtyd: St Michael and All Angels Church
Coming from Ruthin, turn right after the Fox and Hounds pub and continue until for about a mile until you reach the church.
There are a few steps into the church